By Publication Date | By Series | By Alphabet

The Enduring Flame

Phoenix Unchained cover

Mercedes Lackey books and music can be purchased from Firebird Arts & Music

Excerpts from the Phoenix Unchained

The Phoenix Unchained
The Phoenix Unchained is the first book in the Enduring Flame trilogy.

This series takes place more than 1,000 years after events depicted in the Obsidian Trilogy. The city of Armethalieh is no longer ruled by mages, and High Magick itself is forgotten. Elves and dragons are known to exist, but live in distant lands and are never seen. Wielders of Wild Magic are extremely rare. Characters familiar from earlier books have become legends from a dim past. Then Tiercel Rolfort, the scholarly son of lower nobility, rediscovers High Magick. Beset with visions and physically weakening, Tiercel decides his best hope is to take a journey to find a Wild Mage. Meanwhile, Wild Mage Bisochim has become convinced of his calling to set the balance aright by bringing darkness back into the world. Having found and bonded with the dragon Saravasse, he plans to draw on her power to further his dark goals.

Books in chronological order:
The Phoenix Unchained
The Phoenix Endangered
The Phoenix Transformed

©2009 Mercedes Lackey. All rights reserved.