By Publication Date | By Series | By Alphabet

Diana Tregarde

Burning Water Cover

Mercedes Lackey books and music can be purchased from Firebird Arts & Music

Excerpts from Burning Water

Burning Water Burning Water is the first book featuring Diana Tregarde and Guardians.

Dallas Police Detective Mark Valdez isn't just any cop - he's a psychic who knows that the cattle mutilations and torture murders he's been investigating are somehow tied together. He also knows that his meager psychic abilities aren't enough to identify the killers, much less stop them.

Luckily, Mark has an ace up his sleeve: an attractive young romance novelist who happens to be a practicing witch. And not just any witch, either - Diana Tregarde is a Guardian, charged with protecting the Earth and all its creatures.

Using modern science and ancient magics, Diana and Mark discover that they are tailing no ordinary serial killer but the awakened avatar of an Aztec god. Tezcatlipoca and his four beautiful hand-maidens are preparing for a great sacrifice that will transform North America into a new Aztec realm.

Diana isn't sure her powers are strong enough to take on those of a risen Aztec god, but she has no choice. As a Guardian, she is sworn to protect mankind, even at the cost of her own life. Luckily, she does not stand alone. Mark Valdez is more than just a cop. And Tezcatlipoca is not the only Aztec god walking in the world.

The Bedlam Bards series, the SERRAted Edge series, and the Diana Tregard books are all set in the same universe and feature elves, magic, and modern life.

This series has recently been re-issued by Tor.

Novels featuring Diana Tregarde in time order

Burning Water
Children of the Night
Jinx High

Bedlam's Bards novels

Bedlam's Bard (Omnibus) with Ellen Guon
Bedlam Boyz by Ellen Guon
Knight of Ghosts and Shadows with Ellen Guon
Summoned to Tourney with Ellen Guon
Beyond World's End with Rosemary Edghill
Spirits White as Lightning with Rosemary Edghill
Mad Maudlin with Rosemary Edghill
Music to My Sorrow with Rosemary Edghill
Bedlam's Edge anthology edited by Mercedes Lackey and Rosemary Edghill

SERRAted Edge series

The Chrome Borne (Omnibus) with Larry Dixony
The Otherworld (Omnibus) with Larry Dixon
Born To Run with Larry Dixon
Wheels of Fire with Mark Shepherd
When the Bough Breaks with Holly Lisle
Chrome Circle with Larry Dixon
Elvendude (1994) by Mark Shepherd
Spiritride (1997) by Mark Shepherd
Lazerwarz (1999) by Mark Shepherd
This Scepter'd Isle
Stoned Souls
Ill Met by Moonlight
And Less Than Kind

©2009 Mercedes Lackey. All rights reserved.