By Publication Date | By Series | By Alphabet

Valdemar Short Story Collection

Changing the World cover

Mercedes Lackey books and music can be purchased from Firebird Arts & Music

Excerpts from Changing the World

Changing the World and Other Tales of Valdemar Changing the World is a collection of short stories set in the world of Velgarth.

The Heroes of Valdemar are the Heralds, an ancient order trained to be emissaries, spies, judges, diplomats, scouts, counselors, and even warriors. But they are more than just protectors of the kingdom. Chosen from all across the land, from all walks of life, and at all ages, these unusual individuals are Gifted with abilities beyond those of normal men and women. They are Mindspeakers, FarSeers, Empaths, ForeSeers, Firestarters, FarSpeakers, and others who are uniquely suited to protecting their realm. Sought and Chosen by mysterious horselike Companions, they are bonded for life to these telepathic, enigmatic creatures. With their Companions, the Heralds of Valdemar ride patrol throughout the kingdom protecting the peace and, when necessary, defending their land and monarch.

Now, sixteen authors join Mercedes Lackey, adding their own adventurous touch to the heroes of this well-loved fantasy realm. Join Tanya Huff, Micky Zucker Reichert, Fiona Patton, Judith Tarr, Rosemary Edghill and others in sixteen original stories, including an all-new novella from Mercedes Lackey, set in a land where: A woman shunned by her village and betrayed by her brother finds her true calling when she saves the lives of a wounded Herald and his Companion... a devoted young herbalist must choose between her chosen duty to her town and her destiny as a Herald... a man who is about to be happily married is shown the truth of his situation by a Companion he has refused to follow....

Stories include:
"The One Left Behind" by Mercedes Lackey
"For Want of a Nail" by Rosemary Edghill and Denise McCune
"Softly Falling Snow" by Elizabeth A. Vaughan
"The Reluctant Herald" by Mickey Zucker Reichert
"A Storytelling of Crows" by Elizabeth Waters
"Waiting to Belong" by Kristin Schwengel
"The Last Part of the Way" by Brenda Cooper
"Midwinter Gifts" by Stephanie D. Shaver
"Wounded Bird" by Michael Z. Williamson
"Defending the Heart" by Kate Paulk
"Matters of the Heart" by Sarah A. Hoyt
"Nothing Better to Do" by Tanya Huff
"The Thief of Anvil's Close" by Fiona Patton
"Twice Blessed" by Judith Tarr
"Be Careful What You Wish For" by Nancy Asire
"Interview with a Companion" by Ben Ohlander

Other Valdemar short story collections:

Sword of Ice
Sun in Glory
Moving Targets
Changing the World
Finding the Way
Under the Vale

Valdemar Companion

©2011 Mercedes Lackey. All rights reserved.